Making the best of a bad job.

08 May 2017

“Plus my training still has 3 lots of 20 mile runs to come to help bump up my endurance. I’m starting to think I could actually become a marathon runner” The Return of the Long Run – 27th March 2017

At the risk of boarding on the philosophical, I’ve learnt in life that plans are all well and good but something can quickly come along and pick everything apart to the point where you begin to question the use of plans in the first place (other than getting to make a spreadsheet of course). My marathon training plan is the latest plan to suffer, and how. My blog post on 27th March boasted at how a 17 mile run had gone well and confidence was high ahead of the marathon. Hey, I’d even get to run three lots of 20 miles too to help things along. Well, my first blog of May would like to revisit that blog and give it a well-deserved slap across the chops.

Things started to go downhill almost immediately after that 17 mile run. Little did I know it, but an introduction to off road running at running club the following Thursday (which I enjoyed so much I planned to write about until things went tits up) was the last time I’d be able to run comfortably. My IT band was flaring up and I was in pain.

After some prolonged rest and a steady reintroduction to running I started to improve. It was important to get back out, I could feel myself slipping in to non-running mode and if I wasn’t careful I could end up undoing a lot of the hard work I’d put in to this point. A few controlled 4 and 5 mile mid-week runs had been relatively pain free, so with some trepidation I gave myself the green light to do the first of my 20 mile runs.

I decided that if my knee was going to give in it would do so fairly early on, so I planned my route to do a 4 mile circuit close to home, then if all was well I’d head further out on a new route. I figured a new route would help to distract me from fretting about my knee the whole time, and make sure I couldn’t cut the run short if the distance was proving too much.

My run started slowly, very slowly. This was in part to make sure I was pacing myself over 20 miles, and in part down to a fear of tweaking my knee. As my 4 mile point of no return marker approached my knee was tight, a little painful at times, but I could run on it. I decided to carry on.

Up until about mile 13 I was feeling good, my knee was holding up and I’d been able to keep pushing my pace to see what I could get away with before things started to hurt. My mistake however was stopping to take a gel, my leg ceased up in no time at all and as soon as I went to set off again I was in pain. It was a struggle to keep going on the canal but luckily I hit a canal lock after a mile or so and the short climb it brought with it seemed to help free up my leg again.

The rest of the run was slow, but comfortable until around 18/19 miles. By then my pace was down to 9.5min/miles and I could do nothing about it. Even along the final downhill stretch towards home my pace stayed the same. I was struggling. 20 miles ticked over on my watch and I immediately stopped, no extra half mile run to home for me today. That was getting walked.

I hated that run. The final few miles were horrendous and I very nearly gave up and walked it. It took me an age to recover as well, I was completely drained for the rest of the afternoon and struggled to achieve much with the rest of my day. Although I was pleased to have hit 20 miles I was terrified at the prospect of having to find another 6 miles on race day.

What that run did do was convince me I was ok to slowly up my  weekly mileage again, if not my pace. The second 20 miler has just passed and followed a much better week of training. I ran the same route to let me compare efforts and all in all it felt a lot better. A few twinges in my upper thigh (I assume still IT band related) slowed me down momentarily but I felt far more comfortable at the finish than I did a couple of weeks earlier. Disappointingly this was a slightly slower run than the first effort, but given how awful I felt after the first effort there I think that’s more down to better pacing on my part. Although the thought of another 6 miles to run was still daunting, it felt far more achievable after this second run.

After that my “long” long runs are done. My next two Sundays will bring with them a 12 miler and an 8 miler before marathon day. That’s a relief. The earlier blog post which enthused at the prospect of the upcoming three lots of 20 milers has been let down, only two were run, but that post was an idiot anyway. I can just about see myself finishing the marathon, but any hope of getting close to a 3 hour 30 minute finish time feels to have slipped by. It’s disappointing but as my previous marathon PB is 04:15 I should still be on track to beat this. As for thinking “I could actually become a marathon runner”; jog on!

 

 

 

 

Author: thedaddyone

Proud father to two girls, trying to carry on after the loss of our eldest.

Leave a Reply

